Spy Podcast for Fans of Spy Books, TV & Movies

Spybrary Exclusive

Top 120 Spy Authors Ranked by Tim Shipman for Spybrary

Do we have a treat in store for you spy book fans! Many of you will know Tim Shipman as the Chief Political Commentator at the Sunday Times or maybe you know him as the author of All Out War? But did you know that Tim is also a huge fan of spy books and boasts his own very impressive Spybrary? In this exclusive Spybrary feature Tim is going to share with us his top 120 spy authors ranked!

Shane Whaley

The host of the Spybrary Spy Podcast is spy fan Shane Whaley

Spybrary is a Spy Podcast, Blog and Community for fans of Spy Books, Spy TV and Spy Movies. Described by the UK's Radio Times as 'Espionage as Entertainment'.

Spy Author Interviews

By Spy fans for Spy fans
All the Old Knives Olen Steinhauer

All the Old Knives with Olen Steinhauer and Janus Metz (181)

On April 8th, Amazon releases the movie adaptation of Olen Steinhauer's All the Old Knives. In...
Read More
Charlotte Philby Edith and Kim

Spy Author Interview – Charlotte Philby talks Edith and Kim. (179)

Welcome to Episode 179 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy...
Read More

The James Bond Book Club

With a difference..we record as if we are in the year of publication!

Spy Books

Spy Book Reviews and Discussions
The best spy writers

The Other 170 Must Read Spy Writers by Tim Shipman

Jump to… Wild Cards Pre- 1920 1920-1950 1950-1970 1970's 1980's 1990's 2000s 2010s to Today The...
Read More

Spy Video Game Metal Gear Solid – Brush Pass Review (177)

Spy Video Game Review Metal Gear Solid And now for something completely different. We just decoded...
Read More

Spy authors you probably won’t see in my top 120 spy writers ranked list.

Tim Shipman is sharing his 120 top spy writers in ranking order, for Spybrary. He shared...
Read More

Spy TV Shows & Movies

Spy fan round tables and discussion
All the Old Knives Olen Steinhauer

All the Old Knives with Olen Steinhauer and Janus Metz (181)

On April 8th, Amazon releases the movie adaptation of Olen Steinhauer's All the Old Knives. In...
Read More
Apple TV's Slow Horses Review

Apple TV’s Slow Horses with Gary Oldman, episodes 1 and 2 review (180)

Spybrary joins forces with the Barbican Station podcast to discuss Apple TV's Slow Horses series starring...
Read More

The Baron Spy TV Review – Spy Rewind (174)

In this episode of Spy Rewind, our hosts Matthew and Jeff take a look at the...
Read More

Spooks/MI5 Spy TV Show Review – Spy Rewind

In this episode of Spy Rewind Matthew and Jeff take a look at the episode “I...
Read More

Spy TV Show Review – The Man from U.N.C.L.E with Robert Short

In this New Year’s Eve episode of Spy Rewind Matthew and Jeff welcome a special guest....
Read More

Spy Rewind – Get Smart in the Golden Age of Spy TV (163)

In this episode of Spy Rewind, Double O Section‘s Matthew Bradford and SpyWrite‘s Jeff Quest take...
Read More

The return of Dead Drop 5 with author Andy Onyx (161)

Author Andy Onyx finds himself embedded deep in Communist-controlled East Berlin, and has asked his handler...
Read More

Spy Rewind – Covert Affairs (159)

In this episode of Spy Rewind, Double O Section‘s Matthew Bradford and SpyWrite‘s Jeff Quest take...
Read More

Spy Book Collecting

Fans share more about their spy book collections

Listen to Spybrary on...

Spybrary - Apple Podcasts
Spybrary - Google Podcasts