Category

Spy Author Interview
Sunday Times Chief Political Commentator and spy book fan Tim Shipman talks with Ben Macintyre about his latest work based on Colditz, Prisoners of the Castle. So what is Prisoners of the Castle by Ben Macintyre all about? The “entertaining yet objective and often-moving account” (The Wall Street Journal) of one of history’s most notorious prisons—and...
Join Spies and Books, Spybrary host Shane Whaley as he finds outs more about the traitor Robert Hanssen in this interview with author Lis Wiehl Watch the interview on YouTube on our relaunched Spies and Books – the Spybrary YouTube Channel So what is A Spy in Plain Sight all about? New York Times bestselling...
In this conversation with Spybrary host, Shane Whaley, award-winning spy author Dan Fesperman reveals more about the real-life espionage events that inspired his latest novel, set in Berlin in 1990, Winter Work. Watch the interview on YouTube on our relaunched Spies and Books – the Spybrary YouTube Channel So what is Winter Work all about?...
Welcome to Episode 183 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. This week, Spywrite‘s Jeff Quest welcomes Otto Penzler to the show. Otto shares stories from his many years of collecting books and meeting spy fiction authors. You’ll hear stories about Eric Ambler, Charles McCarry, John le Carré and many more. ,  Plus, hear about his...
All the Old Knives Olen Steinhauer
On April 8th, Amazon releases the movie adaptation of Olen Steinhauer's All the Old Knives. In today's episode, two of our most knowledgable spy movie experts and Spybrary agents Matthew Bradford and Jack Lescamela chat with author and screenwriter Olen Steinhauer and the director of All The Old Knives, Janus Metz. Hello, and welcome to...
Charlotte Philby Edith and Kim
Welcome to Episode 179 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and Peter Newman find out more about Charlotte Philby's latest novel, Edith and Kim. Charlotte also shares memories of her grandfather, Kim Philby, and reveals some interesting responses in the world-famous Spybrary Quickfire...
Alma Katsu Interview
Welcome to Episode 176 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Spywrite's Jeff Quest speaks to author Alma Katsu, formerly with the NSA and CIA. Katsu’s latest book, Red Widow, follows a CIA mole hunt. It’s been optioned for television and is out in paperback on March 1st.  They discuss switching from NSA to CIA and...
Welcome to Episode 175 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about The Matchmaker – A Spy in Berlin with author Paul Vidich. In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy...
Welcome to Episode 173 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about Damascus Station with spy writer, author, and former CIA analyst David McCloskey ‘I have never seen a debut spy book so well received and recommended by...
James Wolff author
Welcome to Episode 167 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary host Shane Whaley finds out more about How to Betray Your Country with spy writer, author James Wolff Something I want to address with you all before we get into the conversation, the elephant in the...
1 2 3