Spy Book Collectors – John le Carré with Steven Ritterman and Jeff Quest (155)

Collecting John le Carré books

Spywrite's Jeff Quest talks with one of the foremost collectors of John le Carré novels, Steven Ritterman, whose collection of pristine le Carré editions numbers over 300 items. We learn about the Haycroft-Queen list, rare signed editions, and Steve’s undercover mission to meet le Carré himself. 

All that plus talk on champagne toasts with Otto Penzler, meeting Eric Ambler, literal juggling balls, and a little Silverview talk from a couple of le Carré collectors.

Show Notes:

The Mysterious Bookshop – https://www.mysteriousbookshop.com/ 

Profile of Otto Penzler – https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/otto-penzler-mystery-bookstore 

The Otto Penzler Espionage Auction – https://catalogue.swanngalleries.com/auction-catalogs/THE-PENZLER-COLLECTION-OF-ESPIONAGE?saleno=2209&viewby=Lot_asc 

How to spot a true US first of The Spy Whohttps://spywrite.com/2015/12/22/collecting-the-spy-who-came-in-from-the-cold-by-john-le-carre/ 

In episode 14 of Spybrary Jeff talked with Shane about book collecting tips – https://spybrary.com/collecting-spy-books/ 

Spy Write Book Collecting tips – 

Part One – https://spywrite.com/2017/08/16/on-book-collecting-part-one/

Part Two – https://spywrite.com/2017/09/29/on-book-collecting-part-two/ 

Interact with Steven and other spy fans on the Spybrary Facebook discussion group – https://www.spybrary.com/facebook 

Jeff Quest – Spy Write – https://spywrite.com/ 

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Spywrite 

Spybrary Spy Podcast Discussion Group
Talk more about spy books in our Spybrary discussion group

Related Posts