Tag

spy books
James Bond fan and Spybrary's Head of Station SA, Matt Raubenheimer gives us his spoiler-free thoughts on the latest James Bond 007 novel With A Mind To A Kill written by Anthony Horowitz. Brush Pass Spy Book Review With a Mind To A Kill by Antony Horowitz. It is M's funeral. One man is missing...
Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis
Spybrary Spy Podcast host Shane Whaley gives us his thoughts on the spy novel Agent in Berlin by Alex Gerlis Brush Pass Spy Book Review Agent in Berlin Synopsis (Waterstones) We can’t have agents who are shrinking violets, can we? Look, Barney, when you’ve been around spies for as long as I have you’ll appreciate...
Welcome to Episode 183 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. This week, Spywrite‘s Jeff Quest welcomes Otto Penzler to the show. Otto shares stories from his many years of collecting books and meeting spy fiction authors. You’ll hear stories about Eric Ambler, Charles McCarry, John le Carré and many more. ,  Plus, hear about his...
Charlotte Philby Edith and Kim
Welcome to Episode 179 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and Peter Newman find out more about Charlotte Philby's latest novel, Edith and Kim. Charlotte also shares memories of her grandfather, Kim Philby, and reveals some interesting responses in the world-famous Spybrary Quickfire...
The best spy writers
Jump to… Wild Cards Pre- 1920 1920-1950 1950-1970 1970's 1980's 1990's 2000s 2010s to Today The Other 170 must-read spy authors by Tim Shipman. Let’s just call this project the Top 300 spy writers. As promised, I’ve now augmented the main list of 125 best spy writers I have enjoyed with what follows: more than...
Spy Video Game Review Metal Gear Solid And now for something completely different. We just decoded a brush pass from, author Clarke Mayer who shares his thoughts on a spy video game called Metal Gear Solid. Brush Pass Review Metal Gear is a series of techno-thriller stealth games created by Hideo Kojima. Developed and published...
Alma Katsu Interview
Welcome to Episode 176 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Spywrite's Jeff Quest speaks to author Alma Katsu, formerly with the NSA and CIA. Katsu’s latest book, Red Widow, follows a CIA mole hunt. It’s been optioned for television and is out in paperback on March 1st.  They discuss switching from NSA to CIA and...
Welcome to Episode 175 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about The Matchmaker – A Spy in Berlin with author Paul Vidich. In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy...
Welcome to Episode 173 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about Damascus Station with spy writer, author, and former CIA analyst David McCloskey ‘I have never seen a debut spy book so well received and recommended by...
If like me, you are a big fan of audiobooks then it is highly likely that you have listened to today's guest Scott Brick narrating one of your favorite thriller audiobooks. In this conversation, Shane finds out more about life behind the mic with Scott Brick. We learn how he got started in the business...
1 2 3 8