By

Shane Whaley
The best spy writers
Jump to… Wild Cards Pre- 1920 1920-1950 1950-1970 1970's 1980's 1990's 2000s 2010s to Today The Other 170 must-read spy authors by Tim Shipman. Let’s just call this project the Top 300 spy writers. As promised, I’ve now augmented the main list of 125 best spy writers I have enjoyed with what follows: more than...
Spy Video Game Review Metal Gear Solid And now for something completely different. We just decoded a brush pass from, author Clarke Mayer who shares his thoughts on a spy video game called Metal Gear Solid. Brush Pass Review Metal Gear is a series of techno-thriller stealth games created by Hideo Kojima. Developed and published...
Alma Katsu Interview
Welcome to Episode 176 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Spywrite's Jeff Quest speaks to author Alma Katsu, formerly with the NSA and CIA. Katsu’s latest book, Red Widow, follows a CIA mole hunt. It’s been optioned for television and is out in paperback on March 1st.  They discuss switching from NSA to CIA and...
Welcome to Episode 175 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about The Matchmaker – A Spy in Berlin with author Paul Vidich. In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy...
In this episode of Spy Rewind, our hosts Matthew and Jeff take a look at the episode “Enemy of the State” of the 60’s tv show The Baron. They discuss some reasons why The Baron was a misfire upon its release in the US, Steve Forest’s living up to his name with some wooden acting,...
Welcome to Episode 173 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about Damascus Station with spy writer, author, and former CIA analyst David McCloskey ‘I have never seen a debut spy book so well received and recommended by...
In this episode of Spy Rewind Matthew and Jeff take a look at the episode “I Spy Apocalypse” of the early 2000’s tv show called Spooks in the UK and MI5 in the US. They discuss how the show helped revive the tv spy, why VX gas is so nasty and you should avoid being...
If like me, you are a big fan of audiobooks then it is highly likely that you have listened to today's guest Scott Brick narrating one of your favorite thriller audiobooks. In this conversation, Shane finds out more about life behind the mic with Scott Brick. We learn how he got started in the business...
Best Spy Books of 2021
Jason King returns to the Spybrary Podcast for his annual appearance to share his best espionage novels of 2021. This is the most requested feature of Spybrary, requested by spouses, friends, and relatives who purchase Birthday and Holiday presents for loved ones based on the Jason King picks. (I kid you not!) Jason is joined...
In this New Year’s Eve episode of Spy Rewind Matthew and Jeff welcome a special guest. Oscar winner and The Man From U.N.C.L.E. superfan Robert Short join them to take a look at “The Adriatic Express Affair” a New Year’s Eve-themed episode of the classic 60’s spy show. They discuss how Bob would explore the...
1 2 3 4 5 25