Category

Podcast Episodes
The James Bond Book Club Join us as we discuss the latest Ian Fleming James Bond novel, From Russia With Love. We discuss the artwork, the plot, the villains, the femme fatale, the allies, the glamour and we learn more about Bond the person, including what happened to Tiffany Case and we learn of the...
All the Old Knives Olen Steinhauer
On April 8th, Amazon releases the movie adaptation of Olen Steinhauer's All the Old Knives. In today's episode, two of our most knowledgable spy movie experts and Spybrary agents Matthew Bradford and Jack Lescamela chat with author and screenwriter Olen Steinhauer and the director of All The Old Knives, Janus Metz. Hello, and welcome to...
Apple TV's Slow Horses Review
Spybrary joins forces with the Barbican Station podcast to discuss Apple TV's Slow Horses series starring Gary Oldman which airs today. The first half of this episode is spoiler-free. Today is the day many of us have been waiting for, the Apple TV's Slow Horses series starring Gary Oldman as Jackson Lamb is now airing.Through...
Charlotte Philby Edith and Kim
Welcome to Episode 179 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and Peter Newman find out more about Charlotte Philby's latest novel, Edith and Kim. Charlotte also shares memories of her grandfather, Kim Philby, and reveals some interesting responses in the world-famous Spybrary Quickfire...
The James Bond Book Club It is 1956 and we review the latest Ian Fleming James Bond 007 novel, Diamonds Are Forever. With David Craggs, author Andy Onyx and Spybrary Host Shane Whaley. If you enjoyed this episode do check out our deep-dive discussions about other Ian Fleming James Bond Books at The James Bond...
Our good friend Professor Penny Fielding and her colleague Simon Cooke of the University of Edinburgh bring us 5 spy lit podcast episodes which are recorded by students of their Fiction and Espionage course. On today's episode Penny and Simon give us the briefing and then over the next 5 weeks, Spybrary will transmit the...
Spy Video Game Review Metal Gear Solid And now for something completely different. We just decoded a brush pass from, author Clarke Mayer who shares his thoughts on a spy video game called Metal Gear Solid. Brush Pass Review Metal Gear is a series of techno-thriller stealth games created by Hideo Kojima. Developed and published...
Alma Katsu Interview
Welcome to Episode 176 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Spywrite's Jeff Quest speaks to author Alma Katsu, formerly with the NSA and CIA. Katsu’s latest book, Red Widow, follows a CIA mole hunt. It’s been optioned for television and is out in paperback on March 1st.  They discuss switching from NSA to CIA and...
Welcome to Episode 175 of the Spybrary Spy Book podcast. Today, we bring you a spy author interview. Spybrary hosts Shane Whaley and David Craggs find out more about The Matchmaker – A Spy in Berlin with author Paul Vidich. In the vein of Graham Greene and John le Carré, The Matchmaker delivers a chilling Cold War spy...
In this episode of Spy Rewind, our hosts Matthew and Jeff take a look at the episode “Enemy of the State” of the 60’s tv show The Baron. They discuss some reasons why The Baron was a misfire upon its release in the US, Steve Forest’s living up to his name with some wooden acting,...
1 2 3 4 20